Official Rules Q+A

Blocking Before the Whistle

June 16, 2014

Rule 5.13.26 refers to “established starting position,” but this isn’t defined anywhere in the ruleset. How much jostling and bumping of my opponents can I do prior to the jam-starting whistle before I will get a penalty?

Read more…

Jammer Cutting Jammer When Blocked Out Of Bounds On The Inside

June 16, 2014

Jammer A hits Jammer B out of bounds on the inside of the track at the jam start. Jammer A then begins to skate clockwise on the track to draw Jammer B back. Can Jammer B skate counterclockwise around the inside of the track in order to come in behind Jammer A who blocked them out of bounds?

Read more…

Illegal Positioning

June 16, 2014

Now that being fully out of position at the beginning of a jam results in a major penalty (5.13.10), what happens if more than half the team is fully out of position? Does the Pivot get an extra penalty per 5.13.31? Wouldn’t that be more than one penalty for the same transgression? How do these rules work together?

What if the whole team is completely out of position? Would we really assess a penalty to every Blocker on the track for that team?

Read more…

Cutting The Track And Re-entering in Front of an Opponent

March 3, 2014

In what situations is it acceptable for a skater to return to a fully in-bounds state in front of an opponent who knocked said skater out of bounds?

Read more…

Relative Position - UPDATED MARCH 2014

March 3, 2014

Should a change in relative position be measured strictly between the initiator of the block and the opponent that block was made against?  How should gains in a teammate’s relative position be considered in assessing if a penalty is warranted?

Read more…

Real. Strong. Athletic. Revolutionary.